Free4net Zone

My other place…

  • site statistics

How to upgrade FreeBSD system via CVSup

Posted by free4net on September 12, 2008

Today, i need to upgrade a freebsd server that has been created for long time ago.
It runs on freebsd 6.0 release version, so i want to upgrade it to 6.3 stable version.
Here is my procedure for system upgrade

#vi /tmp/stable-supfile —> modify supfile for stable

# The following line is for 6-stable. If you want 5-stable, 4-stable,
# 3-stable, or 2.2-stable, change to “RELENG_5”, “RELENG_4”, “RELENG_3”,
# or “RELENG_2_2” respectively.
*default release=cvs tag=RELENG_6

#cvsup -g -L 2 /tmp/stable-supfile
#cd /usr/src
#make buildworld
#make buildkernel KERNCONF=GENERIC
#make installkernel KERNCONF=GENERIC
#make installworld
#mergemaster
#reboot

Refer to: http://lifestory-eng.blogspot.com/2008/07/upgrade-freebsd-system-by-cvsup.html

3 Responses to “How to upgrade FreeBSD system via CVSup”

  1. Fantastic blog, many amusing details. I think 6 of days ago, I have viewed a similar post.

  2. I’m often to blogging and i really respect your content. The article has actually peaks my interest. I am going to bookmark your website and preserve checking for new information.

  3. This article is blue ribbon material as far as I’m concerned. I haven’t used my brain so much in years. This is very interesting content.

Leave a Reply

 
